Matt Hudgins & His Shit-Hot Country Band

Matt Hudgins & His Shit-Hot Country Band was a ten-piece experimental honky tank orchestra based in Athens, Georgia and largely active from 2009-2014. Members included Matt Hudgins, Erskine “Bubba” McDonald, Byron “BJ” Bracewell, Scott Baxendale, “Terrible” John Machado, Jeff Griggs, Cole Causey, Joe McDonald, Thayer Serrano, & Paul McHugh. Instruments included the human voice, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, baritone guitar, mandolin, bass, drums, fiddle, trombone, mcmullophone, tamborine, pedal steel and keys.

The ten-song debut album Hitmakers, Vol. 1 was recorded live at the Caledonia Lounge in Athens, Georgia and released digitally in 2011. In 2013 they followed it with a 7″ single called The Singles Collection: 2009-2013 recorded at Scott Baxendale’s studio, which doubled as their rehearsal space, the Mysterious Blue Diamond Room. Music videos for the two sides of that single, “Hello Again, 5 a.m.” and “Adderall and Alcohol” were subsequently released.

In late 2020 the band began working on a new album recorded largely remotely, the foundation of which were long-forgotten, decade-old acoustic demos of unreleased songs by Hudgins that Brent Jacobs recorded after hours at the Caledonia Lounge in Athens, Georgia. The album, entitled “Prehumous,” is due late 2021 and the first single “Amor, La Puta Perra” will be released for sale and streaming everywhere on Valentine’s Day, 2021.

Matthew j hudgins at gee male dot com

same shit different page

%d bloggers like this: